Top 5 Wednesday: Books featuring paranormal creatures

I know I know… it’s Thursday today. But hey, what can I say. My head was buried in the book Ruin and Rising yesterday, and then I was emotionally all over the place after I was done with it. So, for this week, let’s just assume it’s still Wednesday so that I can do this post.

Coming to this post, I am supposed to pick one paranormal creature and list down all my favorite books featuring them, but come on… that’s so difficult. I was on such a paranormal binge a few years ago and read so so many books, that I can’t even remember what I felt about them. So. I’m going with any paranormal creature. Also, I am going to include both books and TV shows because… hey, I just want to.

5. Vampire Academy series and Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead

This was one of the series that I read right at the beginning when I was just discovering vampires. The whole concept of Moroi, Strigoi, good and bad vampires, alchemists… it was fun to read. The stories did feel dragged at times but the characters were awesome.. Lissa, Rose, Dmitri… they are all so badass and strong yet vulnerable. I am sure I binge read the books once I started. I don’t even remember the whole story now, so may be it’s time for a reread.

4. All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness

This book has vampires, magic and time travel. What a combination!!! The characters tend to meet some famous personalities from history during these travels and I was extremely excited reading these interactions.

3. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa

These books are full of magic, faerie, Seelie and Unseelie courts and deep love between Meghan and Ash. I remember struggling to wait for the third book once I was done with the other two because the books are brilliantly written. This series should be a must read for anyone who loves YA and paranormal genres.

2. Twilight series by Melissa Mayer

Don’t need to talk about this a lot. This is what started it all – my obsession with vampires. I don’t know if I still like them after all these years, but one thing is for sure, I can never forget them.

1. The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

I never even managed to finish the Mortal Instruments series but I still love this universe. The demons, vampires, werewolves, angels and the shadowhunters are all badass and cool and sometimes downright evil. The Infernal Devices was my favorite series and the love triangle in it is just too awesome. But now, I can’t get enough of the Dark Artifices series. There is only one way I can describe the experience of reading Lord of Shadows – it blew me away. I am just dying to read the Queen of Air and Darkness and the wait is going to be so looooooooong. Of course, Shadowhunters is a superbly entertaining TV show and I love all the characters in it. It is so much fun watching favorite book characters on screen.

Special Mention – The Vampire Diaries and The Originals

This list cannot be complete without mentioning these two shows. They may get boring at times, irritating at others, but they are still amazing and fantastic with such gorgeous looking vampires that I can never get enough of them. TVD is over and the last season of the Originals is next, but these are shows that I will always love and never ever forget.

What paranormal books or shows do you love ❤️ Are your tastes similar to mine… I would love to know!!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑